Department of Human Resources

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Mayor Bowser Honors DC Government Employees at 16th Annual Cafritz Awards

Wednesday, June 28, 2017
DC Government Employees Honored for Exemplary Public Service

(WASHINGTON, DC) – This evening, Mayor Bowser will honor five individuals and one innovative team for their outstanding service to the residents of Washington, DC at the 16th Annual Cafritz Awards. The Cafritz Awards are an annual ceremony to recognize and reward outstanding performance and exemplary service by DC Government employees. The event was hosted by The George Washington University Center for Excellence in Public Leadership and The Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation. 
“Every day, thousands of DC Government employees work to expand prosperity and give residents in all eight wards a fair shot at a good life,” said Mayor Bowser. “Over the past two and half years, we have worked together to build a safer, stronger Washington, DC, and tonight, I am proud to honor this group of dedicated and innovative employees.” 
The following DC Government employees were honored during the ceremony: 

Dr. Reena Chakraborty, Ph.D., Supervisory Statistician/Chief of Strategic Planning and Analysis, Management Support Division, Department of Corrections
Dr. Chakraborty used data to help inform strategic decision-making. 
Ms. Theresa Donaldson-DePass, Program Director (retired), Mental Health Services Division, Department of Behavioral Health
Ms. Donaldson-DePass established the first and only behavioral health urgent care program in the District. 
Mr. Rahim Jenkins, Administrative Officer, Department of Youth Rehabilitation Services 
Mr. Jenkins helped decrease violence among youth by creating the “Covenant of Peace,” an anti-violence initiative geared toward dealing with the systemic issues in and around violence. 
Ms. Laverne Plater, Nurse Consultant, Department of Behavioral Health/Saint Elizabeths Hospital
Ms. Plater helped build bridges between Saint Elizabeths and long-term care facilities.   
Mr. Paul Taylor, Recreation Specialist/Site Lead, Department of Parks and Recreation
Mr. Taylor helped transform the King-Greenleaf Recreation Center into a safe haven for youth in Southwest DC. 
Medicaid Enrollment Team, DC Office on Aging/Department of Health Care Finance (Team Award): Mia Butler, Mary Devasia, Lourdine Jean-Francois, Jennifer Crawley, Gerald Kasunic, Katrice Jefferson, Sara Tribe Clark, Shante Trumpet, Becky Hazlett, Dominique Vinson
This team improved access to in-home care for District seniors and residents with disabilities.

More information about the awardees can be found at cafritzawards.org.

This year's Cafritz Awards fell during Back to Basics DC, an effort to highlight the day-to-day work that keeps the District moving forward. Follow Back to Basics DC on social media using #backtobasicsDC.